Cookies are required for login or registration. Please read and agree to our cookie policy to continue.

Newest Member: Brokenhearted3663

General :
Feeling devalued

Topic is Sleeping.

cedarwoods (original poster member #82760) posted at 6:38 PM on Tuesday, December 12th, 2023

I am in my 2nd year of R. I’ve been thinking about all the damage done as a result of WH’s affair and the worst one is my feeling devalued. I feel like I don’t have value as a human being. I know the affair had nothing to do with me. However, I realized that the affair took away my sense of value. I live in a constantly depressed state with belief that I am worthless and unworthy, most certainly of WH’s love and attention. And this takes me to a place where I am anxious that WH will leave me because he finds me not impressive, not worthy, not enough. I find myself being very careful in what and how I say. I am always trying to impress this man who destroyed my life. This sucks so bad.

posts: 211   ·   registered: Jan. 20th, 2023   ·   location: USA
id 8818113

SacredSoul33 ( member #83038) posted at 7:18 PM on Tuesday, December 12th, 2023

You know what saved me from this kind of thinking? The Four Agreements by don Miguel Ruiz, particularly the agreement about not taking anything personally. Your WH didn't cheat because of something lacking in you. He cheated because of something lacking in him. If anything, he's not worthy of you.

1. Be Impeccable With Your Word
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

2. Don't Take Anything Personally
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won't be the victim of needless suffering.

3. Don't Make Assumptions